Karl Henrik Johansson's Research Group

Below is a list of current and past members of my research group, together with their current affiliation. The list includes all PhD and Licentiate Theses completed under my supervision. (MSc students and their theses are not included, but can be downloaded from the database DiVA.) Please, contact me if you are interested in working on a thesis subject related to my interest, either towards a MSc or a PhD degree, or if you are interested in a postdoc position.

Research Group


  • Matthieu Barreau, Postdoc (PhD from LAAS, CNRS, Toulouse): Estimation and control of road traffic

  • Sun Chao, Wallenberg-NTU Presidential Postdoctoral Fellow (PhD from NTU): Distributed time-varying optimization with applications to swarm robots

  • Matin Jafarian, Postdoc (PhD from University of Groningen): Control of networked systems

  • Xingkang He, Postdoc (PhD from Academy of Mathematics and Systems Science, Chinese Academy of Sciences): Distributed estimation

  • Urszula Libal (PhD from Wroclaw University of Science and Technology): Interacting control and processing systems

  • Vahid Mamduhi, Postdoc (PhD from TU Munich): Networked control systems

  • Philip E. Paré, Postdoc (PhD from University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign): Epidemic processes over dynamic networks

  • Xu Qianwen, Wallenberg-NTU Presidential Postdoctoral Fellow (PhD from NTU): Attack-resilient coordinated control and stabilization for cyber-physical microgrids

  • Apostolos Rikos, Postdoc (PhD from University of Cyprus): Distributred and networked systems

  • Touraj Soleymani, Postdoc (PhD from TU Munich): Networked control systems

  • Yvonne Stürz, Postdoc (PhD from ETH Zürich): Distributed learning-based control for multi-agent systems (joint with Prof. Francesco Borrelli, UC Berkeley)

  • Kuize Zhang, Postdoc (PhD from Harbin Engineering University): Boolean control networks

PhD Students

  • Joakim Björk, PhD student: Control of high-voltage DC networks (co-supervisors Lennart Harnefors)

  • Dominik Baumann, PhD student: Event-based wireless control of cyber-physical systems (main supervisor Sebastian Trimpe, Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems)

  • Mladen Cicic, PhD student: Control of automated transport systems (co-supervisor Jonas Mårtensson)

  • Dirk van Dooren, PhD student: Control over mobile networks (co-supervisor James Gross)

  • Joana Fonseca, PhD student: Control of autonomous multi-vehicle networks

  • Yulong Gao, PhD student: Multi-agent control of vehicle networks (co-supervisor Lihua Xie, Nanyang Technological University)

  • Takuya Iwaki, PhD student: Wireless control of industrial processes (co-supervisor Henrik Sandberg)

  • Frank Jiang, PhD student: Dynamic allocation of decision processes for automated vehicles (co-supervisor Jonas Mårtensson)

  • Alexander Johansson, PhD student: Coordination of vehicle platooning (main supervisor Jonas Mårtensson)

  • Yuchao Li, PhD student: Control of automated vehicles (main supervisor Jonas Mårtensson)

  • Hanxiao Liu, PhD student: Cyber-secure control systems (main supervisor Lihua Xie, Nanyang Technological University)

  • Vandana Narri, PhD student: Situational awareness under complex traffic scenarios (co-supervisor Jonas Mårtensson)

  • Elis Stefansson, PhD student: Human-robot interactions and control (co-supervisor Henrik Sandberg)

  • David Umsonst, PhD student: Security of cyberphysical systems (main supervisor Henrik Sandberg)

  • Xinlei Yi, PhD student: Event-based multi-agent control (co-supervisors John Baras and Dimos Dimarogonas)

Former Postdocs and PhD Students

Former postdocs

  • Anton Selivanov, 2018-2019, currently Lecturer at the University of Sheffield, United Kingdom

  • Jieqiang Wei, 2016-2019, currently Researcher at Ericsson, Sweden

  • Ehsan Nekouei, 2017-2019, currently Assistant Professor at City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong

  • Song Fang, 2018-2019, currently Researcher at New York University, USA

  • Xiaoqiang Ren, 2018-2019, currently Assistant Professor at Shanghai University, China (awarded Chinese 1000 Talent Plan grant)

  • Mohammad Pirani, 2018-2019, currently Researcher at University of Toronto, Canada

  • Jaehyun Yoo, 2016-2018, currently Assistant Professor at Hankyong National University, Korea

  • Takashi Tanaka, 2015-2017, currently Assistant Professor at University of Texas, Austin, USA

  • Jungfeng Wu, 2014-2017, currently Assistant Professor at Zhejiang University, China (received Guan Zhao-Zhi Award and Chinese 1000 Talent Plan grant)

  • Moritz Wiese, 2014-2016, currently Researcher at TU Munich, Germany

  • Marco Molinari, 2013-2016, currently Researcher at KTH

  • Adam Molin, 2014-2016, currently Assistant Technical Manager at DENSO, Germany

  • Bart Besselink, 2012-2016, currently Assistant Professor at University of Groningen, the Netherlands

  • Wei Chen, 2016, currently Assistant Professor at Peking University, China

  • Tomonori Sadamoto, 2015-2016, currently Assistant Professor at University of Electro-Communications, Tokyo, Japan

  • Alessandra Parisio, 2012-2015, currently Lecturer at University of Manchester, UK

  • Weiguo Xia, 2014-2015, currently Assistant Professor at Dalian University of Technology, China

  • Davide Liuzza, 2013-2015, currently Researcher at University of Sannio, Benevento, Italy

  • Kun Liu, 2013-2015, currently Associate Professor at Beijing Institute of Technology, China

  • Tao Yang, 2012-2014, currently Professor at Northeastern University, China (awarded Chinese 1000 Talent Plan grant)

  • Ziyang Meng, 2012-2014, currently Associate Professor at Tsinghua University, China (awarded Humboldt Research Fellowship and Chinese 1000 Talent Plan grant)

  • Takayuki Ishizaki, 2012, currently Assistant Professor at Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan

  • Damiano Varagnolo, 2011-2013, currently Professor at Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway

  • Guodong Shi, 2010-2014, currently Senior Lecturer at University of Sydney, Australia

  • Kin-Cheong Sou, 2010-2012, currently Assistant Professor at National Sun Yat-sen University, Taiwan

  • James Weimer, 2010-2012, currently Research Assistant Professor at Univerisity of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, USA

  • Daniel Lehmann, 2011-2012, currently Head of Electrical Engineering and Automation at STEAG Energy Services GmbH, Germany

  • Milos Stankovic, 2010-2012, currently at University of Belgrade, Serbia

  • Iman Shames, 2010-2012, currently Senior Lecturer at University of Melbourne, Australia

  • Ubaldo Tiberi, 2011-2012, currently Principal Control System Research Engineer at Volvo Group Trucks Technology, Gothenburg, Sweden

  • Yassine Ariba, 2010, currently Associate Professor at ICAM and LAAS-CNRS, Toulouse, France

  • Phoebus Chen, 2009-2011, currently Lead Software Engineer, Machine Learning at C3, San Francisco, USA

  • Corentin Briat, 2009-2011, currently Researcher at ETH Zurich, Switzerland

  • Dimos Dimarogonas, 2007-2009, currently Professor at KTH

  • Alexandre Seuret, 2007-2008, currently Directeur de Recherche, CNRS, LAAS, Toulouse, France

  • Maben Rabi, 2006-2009, currently Professor at Ostfold University College, Norway

  • Emmanuel Witrant, 2006-2007, currently Associate Professor at GIPSA-lab, Grenoble, France

  • Carlo Fischione, 2005-2007, currently Professor at KTH, Sweden

  • Henrik Jansson, 2005-2007, currently at RaySearch Laboratories, Sweden

  • Michael Rotkowitz, 2005-2006, currently Research Scientist at Lyft, San Francisco, USA

  • Luigi Iannelli, 2003, currently Associate Professor at University degli Studi del Sannio, Benevento, Italy

PhD theses completed under my supervision or co-supervision

Lic. theses completed under my supervision or co-supervision