Mikael Skoglund, Professor

Dr. Skoglund received the Ph.D. degree in 1997 from Chalmers University of Technology, Göteborg, Sweden. He was appointed Docent in Signal Processing in February 2001 and Professor of Communication Theory in October 2003, both at KTH.

He joined the Dept. of Signals Sensors and Systems, KTH, in August 1997. Here he became Assistant Professor (forskarassistent) in March 1998 and Associate Professor (universitetslektor) in October 2001. He was then appointed to the Chair in Communication Theory in October 2003.

Skoglund heads the Division of Information Science and Engineering at KTH, and he also chairs the Department of Intelligent Systems. He is furthermore PI for the Strategic Research Area ICT-TNG and he is on the Executive Commitee for Digital Futures.

Research interests: Information theory, communications, signal processing, networks, security and privacy, decision and control, inference and learning, quantum information

During 2003-09 he was an associate editor for IEEE Trans. on Communications and in the period 2009-12 he was on the editorial board for IEEE Trans. on Information Theory. Starting 2021 he is once again an editor for IEEE Trans. on Information Theory. Skoglund was general co-chair for IEEE ITW 2019 (Visby, Gotland) and served as TPC co-chair for IEEE ISIT 2022 (Helsinki). Starting January 1st, 2023, he is an elected member of the IEEE Information Theory Society Board of Governors. Skoglund is a Fellow of the IEEE.

Information Science and Engineering
School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
KTH Royal Institute of Technology
100 44 Stockholm, Sweden
KTH Main Campus
Malvinas väg 10, Room A:415

Email: skoglund@kth.se Phone: +46 8 790 8430
Personal web-page: people.kth.se/~skoglund
KTH profile page: www.kth.se/profile/skoglund

Full List of Publications (Google Scholar, KTH DiVA)

Recent Publications

Research Projects

Present Postdocs

  • Viswanathan Ramachandran, 2023-
    • Graduated from: IIT Bombay
    • Co-supervised with: T. Oechtering
  • Sajad Daei, 2022-
    • Graduated from: IUST, Iran
    • Co-supervised with: G. Fodor

Former Postdocs

  1. Photios Stavrou, 2017-21
    • Graduated from: Univ. Cyprus
    • Present affiliation: Eurecom
  2. Giulia Cervia, 2019-20
    • Graduated from: ENSEA, France
    • Co-supervised with: T. Oechtering
    • Present affiliation: Université de Lille
  3. Germán Bassi, 2016-20
    • Graduated from: Supélec
    • Present affiliation: Ericsson Research, Stockholm
  4. Antonios Pitarokoilis, 2016-20
    • Graduated from: Linköping Univ.
    • Present affiliation: Ericsson Research, Stockholm
  5. Song Fang, 2017-19
    • Graduated from: Tokyo Inst. Techn.
    • Co-supervised with: K. H. Johansson
    • Present affiliation: New York University
  6. Ehsan Nekouei, 2017-19
    • Graduated from: Univ. Melbourne
    • Co-supervised with: K. H. Johansson
    • Present affiliation: City University of Hong Kong
  7. Qiwen Wang, 2016-19
    • Graduated from: Chinese University of Hong Kong
    • Present affiliation: Huawei Technologies, Stockholm
  8. Hadi Ghauch, 2017-18
    • (Former Ph.D. student)
    • Present affiliation: ENST, Paris
  9. Takashi Tanaka, 2015-17
    • Graduated from: UIUC
    • Present affiliation: Univ. Texas, Austin
    • Co-supervised with: K. H. Johansson, H. Sandberg
  10. Moritz Wiese, 2015-16
    • Graduated from: TU Munich
    • Present affiliation: TU Munich
    • Co-supervised with: K. H. Johansson, P. Papadimitratos, T. Oechtering
  11. Jinfeng Du, 2013-15
    • Graduated from: KTH
    • VR postdoc at MIT, hosted by Médard (MIT) and Skoglund
    • Present affiliation: Nokia/Lucent Bell-Labs, NJ
  12. Somayeh Salimi, 2011-14
    • Graduated from: Sharif, Teheran
    • Present affiliation: Cygate/Telia
  13. Majid Khormuji, 2011-13
    • (Former Ph.D. student)
    • Present affiliation: Huawei, Stockholm
  14. Mikko Vehkaperä, 2010-13
    • Graduated from: NTNU
    • Present affiliation: Univ. Sheffield
    • Co-supervised with: L. K. Rasmussen, E. Aurell
  15. Taejoon Kim, 2012
    • Graduated from: Purdue
    • Present affiliation: Univ. Kansas
  16. Chao Wang, 2009-12
    • Graduated from: Univ. Edinburgh
    • Present affiliation: Tongji University, Shanghai
  17. Saikat Chatterjee, 2009-12
    • Graduated from: IISc
    • Present affiliation: KTH
  18. Vishwambhar Rathi, 2009-10
    • Graduated from: EPFL
    • Present affiliation: NVIDIA, Bristol
    • Co-supervised with: L. K. Rasmussen, E. Aurell
  19. Lei Bao, 2009-10
    • (Former Ph.D. student)
    • Present affiliation: Ericsson Research, Gothenburg
    • Co-supervised with: K. H. Johansson
  20. Tobias Oechtering, 2008-10
    • Graduated from: TU Berlin
    • Present affiliation: KTH
  21. Ming Xiao, 2007-8
    • Graduated from: Chalmers
    • Present affiliation: KTH
  22. Ragnar Thobaben, 2007-8
    • Graduated from: TU Kiel
    • Present affiliation: KTH

Present Ph.D. Students

I am also co-advisor for the following students.
  • Martin Lindström (main advisor: Ragnar Thobaben)
  • Sara Saeidian (main advisor: Tobias Oechtering)
  • Jeannie He (main advisor: Ming Xiao)

Former Ph.D. Students as Main Advisor

  1. Hamid Ghourchian
  2. Michail Mylonakis
  3. Hasan Basri Çelebi
  4. Sina Molavipour
  5. Hadi Ghauch
  6. Tan Tai Do
  7. Efthymios Stathakis
  8. Zhao Wang
  9. Sheng Huang
  10. Hamed Farhadi
  11. Frédéric Gabry
  12. Kittipong Kittichokechai
  13. Dennis Sundman
  14. Amirpasha Shirazinia
  15. Mattias Andersson
  16. Ali Abbas Zaidi
  17. Ricardo Blasco Serrano
  18. Hieu Do
  19. Nicolas Schrammar
  20. Zhongwei Si
  21. Jinfeng Du
  22. Majid Khormuji
  23. Johannes Kron (formerly Karlsson)
  24. Sha Yao
  25. Lei Bao
  26. Niklas Wernersson
  27. Tung Kim
  28. Tomas Andersson (formerly Sköllermo)
  29. Jochen Giese

Former Ph.D. Students as Co-Advisor

  1. Linghui Zhou (main advisor: Tobias Oechtering)
  2. Wanlu Lei (main advisor: Ming Xiao)
  3. Hao Chen (main advisor: Ming Xiao)
  4. Xinyue Liang (main advisor: Saikat Chatterjee)
  5. Alireza Mahdavi Javid (main advisor: Saikat Chatterjee)
  6. Shaocheng Huang (main advisor: Ming Xiao)
  7. Yu Ye (main advisor: Ming Xiao)
  8. Minh Tanh Vu (main advisor: Tobias Oechtering)
  9. Sebastian Schiessl (main advisor: James Gross)
  10. Phuong Le Cao (main advisor: Tobias Oechtering)
  11. Peter Larsson (main advisor: Lars K. Rasmussen)
  12. Majid Gerami (main advisor: Ming Xiao)
  13. Leefke Grosjean (main advisor: Lars K. Rasmussen)
    • Ph.D. degree received in May 2016
    • Thesis: Practical Anytime Codes
    • Present affiliation: Ericsson Research (Stockholm)
  14. Joakim Jaldén (main advisor: B. Ottersten)
    • Ph.D degree received in December 2006
    • Thesis: Detection for Multiple Input Multiple Output Channels
    • Present affiliation: KTH
  15. Henrik Lundin (main advisor: P. Händel)
  16. Tomas Andersson (main advisor: P. Händel)
  17. George Jöngren (main advisor: B. Ottersten)


Courses I teach or have taught include